#NaturesFarmsChallenge – Sweet : my twisted recipe

I bet you guys didn’t know that I love cooking? Growing up, my sister and I were expected to have started the evening meal by the time my folks got home from work, so cooking is something that I’ve always done and enjoyed.

The good people at Natures Farms challenged me a few weeks back to come up with a South African recipe with a twist and I was so chuffed.  A cooking challenge?  Me : “Whoo hoooo!”

Natures Farms (1)

Then I got thinking about what I constituted as traditional South African food… Braai’s, Bobotie, Koeksusters (ooh I should have done these actually), Melktert, Pap en sous, Morogo…  I couldn’t decide if I wanted to do a sweet dish or a savory dish, so I just thought “fudge it, I’m going to do both.”

Natures Farms Sweet (1)

For my sweet offering, I decided to give a new twist to a dish that I am sure is a favourite in every South African home – the Melktert!  The recipe I used makes two smallish tarts or one large one.

Microwave Ginger & Clementine Melktert

Ingredients:

6 cups                   Full cream milk

3 whole                Clementine’s

3/4 cups               White sugar

5 tbsp                    Natures Farms cake wheat flour

5tbsp                     Maizina (I actually used 10tbsp of the Natures Farms cake wheat flour)

1 tbsp                    Butter

3                              Eggs

5ml                         Vanilla essence

1 packet               Natures Farms Ginger Biscuits

Sprinkle of          Cinnamon

Method

Extract juice of the 3 clementines

Pour the milk & clementine juice in a large dish and microwave for approximately 15 – 20 minutes to boiling point.

Crush your Natures Farms Ginger Biscuits and pack them in your tart dish for the base.

Cream the butter & sugar together

Add the eggs and mix

Add the maizina & flour & mix well

Thinly grate rinds of the clementine peels and add to the mixture (this is an optional step but I found it added GREAT flavour and a new texture dimension to the tart)

Once milk is boiled pour the flour mixture in (be careful because it can bubble over, pour a drop first and then the rest) and mix well

Microwave 6 minutes & stir well twice in-between

Add the vanilla essence and mix

Pour mixture into your tart dish on top of the Natures Farms Ginger biscuits

Sprinkle cinnamon to taste on top of mixture

Thinly grate some clementine rinds on top of mixture and add garnish if required

Set in the fridge for approximately 30 minutes

EAT & ENJOY!

Natures Farms Sweet (2)

My family loved this twisted Melktert and squashed it in 2 days flat!  You can purchase your Natures Farms products at your local Pick n Pay (and get some Super Animal cards while you’re at it) and try out my twisted Melktert for yourself – if you do try it please let me know what you thought!

Keep an eye out for my SAVORY dish which was my personal best of the two I created!

For more information on Natures Farms find them on Facebook, Twitter or via their website.

 

This is a sponsored post

natures-farms-logo

7 thoughts on “#NaturesFarmsChallenge – Sweet : my twisted recipe

    • Thanks Rina! I must say that it tasted really divine – although next time I am going to use 2 x packets of the biscuits to make the base slightly thicker and I might add more clementine flavouring cos I loved it so much.

      xxx

      Date: Mon, 15 Aug 2016 08:26:09 +0000 To: se-ri-ous_sam@hotmail.com

      Like

    • Haha my friend, that is quite funny that you won’t eat “shaky” foods! You don’t know what you are missing as most of those you’ve mentioned (barring jelly – not a fav of mine either) are super delicious!

      xx

      Date: Mon, 29 Aug 2016 20:50:03 +0000 To: se-ri-ous_sam@hotmail.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

