Breakfast for Better Days

I cannot believe that I am going back to work in just under a weeks’ time! It is crazy how quickly time has flown and I am both dreading it and looking forward to it. I don’t know about you but I simply cannot function a full day without eating a good breakfast. It definitely helps me kick my day off well and keeps me going both physically and mentally. I also know that as a mom the one thing that is really important to me is that Kade has a good breakfast before he goes to school. He loves his cereal and yoghurt in the morning!

When I heard from Kelloggs that 1 in 5 of our children go to school with an empty tummy I was saddened. I know how hungry Kade is when he wakes up and I cannot imagine him going to school hungry. The good news is that Kelloggs has committed to 5 million servings of breakfast to learners via their Breakfast for Better Days initiative.

Kelloggs will be donating more than R10 million in cereal and milk to FoodBank who will in turn distribute this to needy schools across South Africa in 2014. That means that 25,000 children will have a breakfast every school day. I bet you’re wondering how you can help?

Firstly you can purchase specially marked packs of Kellogg’s products when you do your monthly cereal shop! Not only will you be feeding your kids and family good wholesome breakfast but you will also be contributing towards filling the tummy of a hungry child. What I love about this initiative is that Kellogg’s have committed to feeding these children whether they sell hundreds of boxes of cereal or if they sell none. Go Kelloggs!!  Secondly you can help spread the word! Tell your friends and family to buy Kellogg’s cereals.

What’s more is that the folks at Kelloggs have also given me an amazing one month breakfast hamper to give away to a lucky reader…

Kelloggs Giveaway

To stand a chance to win please leave a comment below explaining how important you think a good breakfast is. For every Facebook like and Tweet about this competition (use hashtags #KelloggsBFBD and #PowerOfBreakfast and don’t forget to tag @KelloggsZA and @theclam in the tweet), you will get an additional entry.

All entries will be put into a Kellogg’s box and Kade will draw the winner. Winner will be announced on Monday 05th May 2014.
(Please note that should you win, Kellogg’s have advised your prize can take up to 3 weeks to be delivered.)

19 thoughts on “Breakfast for Better Days

  1. Awesome shared competition on Twitter @anitasteenkamp1. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day because it gives you energy and help you concentrate better. All children should have a breakfast everyday and it is so sad that we live in a world where not all children get a breakfast each day!

    Like

  2. A good breakfast for our kiddies determines there day and how they function and it is by far the most important meal of the day. One we never skip. I can’t imagine sending Cayleb to school hungry. P.S. He LOVES Coco Pops

    Like

  3. All important breakfast! I used to have terrible tummy cramps in the past when my habit was to skip breakfast. Now, it’s a meal I never miss because it sets the tone for my day and 99% of the time breakfast for me is cereal

    Like

  4. Starting the day with a good breakfast is very important.It gives you much needed energy to stay alert and energized during your daily. tasks.. I followed on facebook as Lee September and will tweet @0820766294:)

    Like

  5. Starting your day with breakfast is very important.It gives you much needed energy to stay alert and energized during your daily tasks..

    I followed on facebook as Lee September and tweeted @0820766294:)

    Like

  6. I believe a good breakfast is most important as it helps you focus and think clearly and gives you energy for the day ahead. @CandiTerblanche

    Like

  7. A good breakfast is as important as fuel in a car. If there is no fuel then you not going anywhere. Its the same with breakfast, consider it the fuel that your body needs to get going and keep moving. It also gives you the right balance of nutrition that you need to carry you through early morning meetings, flights, exercise, whatever it is. Highly, highly important

    Like

  8. Starting the day with breakfast keeps a person focused and gives them the energy for the day, so heartbreaking to know that lots of family’s go with out 😦 Thumbs up to Kellogg’s for this great work there doing on feeding the children that go with out,tweeted about com @stefeg79 and liked on facebook

    Like

  9. Breakfast is a mist hav in the mornings , very important to 2 have a regular breakfast everyday!!Because each human been need energy in their bodies and brekkies kellogs giv us what we need a kick start 4 the day , the key of healthy living ,body , heart & soul.Energy and nutrients that lead to increased concentration in
    the classroom.Breakfast is important in maintaining a healthy body weight.Hunger sets in long before it’s time for lunch,but because it’s not convenient to eat properly,many people who have not eaten breakfast snack on foods that are high in fat and sugar.People who skip breakfast are unlikely to make up their daily requirement for some vitamins & minerals that a simple breakfast would have provided. Breakfast provides energy for the activities during the morning & helps to prevent that mid-morning slump. Thumbs up Kelloggs SA u just amazing out there:D @hojokukitu n a facebook fan2

    Like

  10. To me breakfast is the most important meal of the day, as a Varsity student I need to ensure that I perform intellectually at my peak and this requires the necessary nutrition to get my brain working and to keep me sustained for the rest of the morning. Great initiative by Kellogg’s – will keep spreading their message. Already a fan of Kellogg’s on FB, have tweeted too 🙂 🙂

    Like

  11. I have always beleived that one cannot function properly, as a student, an employee, employer or a stay-at-home Mom, without having a decent nutritious breakfast and cereal is the most convenient and cheapest way of being able to meet this requirement. It is sad when we have to witness on a daily basis that people, especially children, are not able to even have this basic meal. Well done Kellogg’s for such a fantastic campaign to help the less fortunate in this way. A fan on Kellogg’s FB and I have made my pledge and have also rewtweeted this fabulous competition. If I am the fortunate winner, the hamper will be donated to my local Children’s home 🙂

    Like

  12. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, I know we’ve heard that a million times but ts actually true. Imagine starting the day without any breakfast, where will you get the energy to go through the day and you’ll end having a bad day all because you missed that important meal in the morning. The little ones especially need to have breakfast each and everyday to maintain their energetic and hyperactive selves through out the day. Liked and shared on Facebook and followed on twitter @XhosaCliqs

    Like

  13. Breakfast is such an important meal, it gives you the energy to get started and going in the morning! Helps you concentrate and not fall asleep. there is truely nothing worse than a hungry child! Think the work that Kelloggs is doing is fantastic, really sad to think that there are so many children going without food.

    Like

  14. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day…Breakfast provides energy for the activities during the morning and keeps you moving throughout the day.

    Like

  15. I never realized how breakfast was important until I had kids of my own, there are so many reasons why breakfast is labelled the most important meal of the day, but I’ll just mention from personal experience. My kids always have better energy during the day, they focus better, they seem much more happier and a healthy breakfast keeps them active and not sick. But for me, I concentrate better and I get my work done properly.

    I have liked on FB: Karabo Nkoenyane

    Tweeted on twitter: @Beydaisy

    My twins will love me for this!!!!! Holding thumbs 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

