How I read…

Firstly thanks to everyone for the comments and suggestions on the bath time blues – Murphy’s law as soon as I posted within two nights we were back to a happy chilled child at bath time – go figure!

I saw this on Julia’s blog and as an avid reader, I thought it’d be fun to do myself 🙂

How do you organise your books?

The top shelf of my book shelf is for my non fiction and Christian books.  Also my quote books are on that shelf.  The rest of my books are grouped by author but are also arranged by size.  I haven’t done a clean up in a while, so now I have loads of books that are lying on their sides in front of my neatly organised books and it is driving me dilly – need.to.clean.up.book.shelf.SOON!

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

I will read ANYTHING good.  Stand alone, series, non-fiction – you name it I will read it.  If it is a series I always end up in a trap that I buy the first book, then have to wait for the second, third whatever number book and it annoys me.  But it does give me a good excuse to re-read the book that comes before in the series 😉

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

I will read anywhere and anytime that I can.

I read on the loo, in my bed, in the bath (altho I hardly ever bath but when I do you can believe I have a book in there with me), I read while blow drying my hair, while cooking, as a passenger in a car on a long trip etc.  I grab every bit of reading time that I can.

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

I used to read up to 5 or 6 books at a time.  But I find as I’ve gotten older and as I have more on my plate I can no longer achieve this.  So now I read max 2 books at a time.

What is the last book you bought?

The last paper book I bought was the 50 Shade Trilogy.  The last kindle book I bought was War Brides.

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading War Brides by Helen Bryan, have only just started this but enjoying it immensely.  Prior to this I read a kindle book called A Mother’s punishment (can’t remember by whom now) and it chilled me to the bone.  A true story of a really f*cked up mother whose abuse of her daughter raised bile in my throat on countless occasions.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

Um no.  I write it down and look it up later.

(Jules – I might need kindle lessons from you… you can look up words immediately on kindle?? Winning!!!)

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

No I don’t snack while reading.  I cannot handle smears on my paper books and my kindle is too new for that kinda disrespect 😉

If you liked this – do it on your own blog or answer in the comments below 🙂

2 thoughts on “How I read…

  1. Earlier this year we had the rest of our library (which has been in storage for the last 6.5 years) finally shipped over to join us. It was my responsibility to unpack them and shelve them, and so I did so in the most eminently sane way:

    Fiction, which includes poetry and plays other than Shakespeare, goes alphabetical by author’s last name starting with the two bookcases in the bedroom and ending in one of the bookcases in Gwen’s room; the other bookcase has children’s books (where “children’s” is “anything I wouldn’t object to her reading before the age of 14 or so but which I doubt I’ll be rereading myself in the next 10 years”.)

    Nonfiction is downstairs; two bookcases are philosophy, math, and logic; one has shelves of cookbooks, dictionaries, art books, cartography books, and books which are too big to fit standing up and so are lying down on their sides. There’s also a shelf of Shakespeare; and the fourth bookcases has all other non-fiction. In all cases, the books are arranged by author’s last name, except dictionaries which are alphabetically by language. All of my heraldry and onomastic books are in the attic, which doubles as our office.

    See? Perfectly reasonable. And yet Joel can never find the book he’s looking for. I just don’t understand it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Loved your answers! This was such a fun meme – not sure which Kindle you use, but you should be able to just move your cursor onto the word and it comes up JUST LIKE THAT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

