8 Already

Today my niece turns eight years old.  It’s amazing how quickly time flies.  Eight years ago I was a hung over wreck visting my sister and her baby in hospital and today that little being is a bright, vivacious, sometimes precocious, wonderful, talented young woman little girl.

I often think about what a great job my sister has done with her (my sister is a single mom after she threw her trash talking fiance out after finding out he cheated on her all through her pregnancy a week after their daughter was born).  She’s well mannered and while she pushes boudaries all the time which frustrates me no end, I have to admit that probably all kids do this at some point in their lives. (And probably more often than not!)

I asked her what she wanted for her birthday and she told me “a cousin” and how I wish that I was making that gift a reality right now.  But the fact is that I’m not so her new bike helmet, bike bling and clothes will have to do in the mean time.

Happy Birthday child of my heart – Aunty Sam loves you lots and lots.

10 thoughts on “8 Already

  1. While you celebrate your neices 8th birthday, we’re celebrating my nephews 6th birthday. I wonder if his mom ever thinks about how she cried constantly to me about not wanting him and how I talked her out of an abortion????
    Happy birthday to the miracles!

    Like

  2. Aww! Happy birthday to your niece! My niece recently turned 8 as well and told me I was running behind in giving her a cousin. All of my siblings are a good bit older than I am, so my nephew is 7 years younger than I, my oldest niece is 7 years younger than my nephew and the youngest niece is 7 years younger than the older niece. Therefore, since she just turned 8, she thinks I’m running behind. Lord knows I’d give her a cousin if I could!

    Nice to meet you!

    ~ICLW~

    Like

  3. I hope your niece gets her birthday wish soon 🙂

    I’m also an Aunty Sam, but my niece & nephews call me “Aunt Sammie”, really it’s “Aunt Thammie” because they have lisps still!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    (ICLW)

    Like

Leave a Reply

