Lap round up

First up – thank you so much for all the love, well wishes and thoughts I received yesterday, you people are REALLY REALLY special you know that?

We arrived at the hospital right on time – got the admission papers sorted only to be told there were no beds in the surgical ward downstairs.  So we sat in reception for a while.  Then our lovely nurse Beauty came to fetch us ( me and two other girls) and took us upstairs to the maternity ward to wiat for a bed.  ERm, nice – NOT.  Beauty hurredly got rid of bassinets and baby paraphenalia from our rooms and then we did some more paperwork.  I made friends with the girl on the bed next to me – her first lap she was terrified.  I tried to calm her down but was honest about possible pain and uncomfort she would feel post procedure.  I also plugged Fertilicare to her.

In flounced our anthetist and he did his pre-op babble, blood pressure checks etc.  Got called down to the surgical suite (thank goodness, the sound of another woman’s baby crying next door was really pulling at my heart strings) and then changed into those delicious gowns and sat in my bed to wait yet again…

Finally went into theatre at about 14h00, my FS is just divine, he was holding my hand and telling me “every little things gonna be all right”.  (well not quite in those words but I loved this song of hope that my friend Shaz dedicated to me)  I woke up 56 minutes later very alert and shivering my ass off.  I thought that was strange cos I’ve never reacted to anethestic like that but a good blow of hot air under my blankies took care of that.  Started chatting to the recovery nurses and they wheeled me back to the ward.  Had some tea (oure heaven after nearly 24 hours of an empty tummy) and sarmies (no Abs no egg ones 😉 ).  Stephan came to chat to me and the news was good – a small endometrioma on my right ovary which he removed and some small spots of endo on my uterus which were also blasted into obscurity.  My bladder was clean this time round, and my left ovary was not stuck onto anything.  The amazing thing is that he was telling me that in some cases, once they get the initial endo sorted out they find a steady decline of it over a period of time and he told me that it can eventually go away completely, and that he thought that from my results that I would be one of those girls… 🙂

I was soon up and about chatting to the girls I had made friends with earlier (my roomate had a huge fibroid and loads of endo removed, my other friend who just moved to JHB from CT had stage 2 endo removed), laughing with the nurses and passing urine to get my discharge papers signed.  I was feeling surprisingly good.  I was extremely chipper and even my FS commented that no one would guess that I had just had surgery – of course he took full credit for that being the amazing surgeon that he is ;).

Once we got home we had dinner and then the lap shoulder started to set in, at first it was a small amount of discomfort in my left shoulder but by 02h00 this am it was full blown “ouchie” hard to breath too deep lap shoulder.  I’m trying to sit up as much as possible cos that seems to give me relief but am exhausted cos I can’t sleep in a sitting position.  Am taking small 30-40 minute naps at a time and then sitting up again and putting  my new best friend (my wheat heat) over my aching shoulders.

But overall I’m feeling good.  A little tender but good.  I’m super pleased at the results of the lap and am looking forward to my new job and new life and new chance at treatment later this year. 

In esssence I guess I’m eeking out a tiny rainbow fart for myself.  I’m so hopeful for whats to come in the future.

Thanks again for all your support, it really warms the cockles of this girl’s heart.  Mwah!!

17 thoughts on “Lap round up

  1. So good to hear that all went well. I also had to sit in the dreadful maternity section after I heard about my m/c – not nice at all. If I rem correctly drink some mint tea to help with the lap gas. Look after yourself xxx

    Like

  2. So glad it’s over and done with now, here’s to a sparkling clean ute and only positive things to come!

    Dr V is a genius, isn’t he!! Glad you made some friends, it’s really true….you are one big rainbow fart!!

    Like

  3. Im so sorry Im late, sweetie! I was definitely thinking of you–and it seems like things are going well (except not getting paid!! stooopid)
    But I do hope things just keep going in an UPWARD pattern=)

    Like

Leave a Reply

