Sparrow Farts or Night Owls?

I’m not a morning person.  I never have been and I probably never will be.  I don’t really function well on little to no sleep.  (What on earth am I going to do when I finally get knocked up and have a real live baby??)  That being said I have always been a night owl.  I can quite easily stay up till midnight or early morning – as long as I don’t have to be up at sparrows fart.

That being said, as my alarm went off this morning at 04h30 am, I realised that if the desire and the need to be a sparrow fart kind of person is there, I can be that person. 

When I was a kid I remember that my Dad had to bring me a cup of tea to get me out of bed for school each day and even then it was a battle of wills to get me up and going.  But let me have to get up early for a hockey away game and boy was I out of bed like a shot without my tea.  It was a matter of prioritie.  School = not really worth the effort but hockey = so.much.fun and totally worth it.

Even when I first started working at in the hotel industry I hated those early (start at 06h00 am) morning shifts!  I would work a late shift (start at 15h00 pm) anyday.   But when I started running and the bug hit it was not problem for me to work a late shift (finishing at 01h00 sometimes 02h00  am) and then to get up again at 04h30 to go for a run.  Priorities you see.

Now in the midst of IVF # 2 I find that the priorities are there for me to get up before sparrows fart to have scans to check my follies and lining.  And it is because of those priorities that I am quite willing to get up at 04h30 am and have divine black rings under my eyes.  Cos you know what?  My priorites are in the right place right now.

What kind of person are you?  Sparrow Fart or Night owl??

16 thoughts on “Sparrow Farts or Night Owls?

  1. I’m most certainly a night owl!! I can be up all night partying or working or whatever, but getting up in the morning, oi! I absolutely am not a sparrows fart kinda gal!! So I take my hat off to you for getting up THAT early! Holding thumbs and praying hard that this is it for you guys!

    Like

  2. I’m definitley NOT a night owl, I’m totally about hearing the sparrows fart! No problem. Saturday/Sunday, I’m up by myself with no alarm before 6am. Easy peasy.

    Like

  3. Well, this is a difficult one for me cos I’m neither really….I fall asleep on the couch at 8:30/9:00 but I can sleep until 9 the next morning too…I find it hard to get up in the mornings for work even after all that sleep!! Weird huh??

    Like

  4. Well I get up early even on the weekends. SO I guess I am a sparrow’s fart person. I can’t stay up late for anything!!

    How is this cycle going?

    Like

  5. Hey I’m both! I can stay up til very late at night and still get up early in the morning! Sometimes, not so often anymore I would fall asleep on the couch for about and hour and then it’s impossible to get back to sleep again, especially when I ‘go check my emails’. Then I’m wide awake again.

    Like

  6. If the world would leave me to be, and my biological clock resets, I would probably be a night owl. Problem is i like sparrows fart more than owls song…mornings are beautiful, but I can’t quite convince my inner clock to agree. Lucky me married an extreme morning person, I am therefore a MBM (modified by marriage) morning person and take 60 mins plus to fall asleep at night. Horrid, I’m teling you, horrid. 11.00 – 14.00 is my grumpy free zone.

    Like

  7. Such a night owl. Most nights I go to bed around 2 or 3 a.m. This includes last night, despite the fact that I had to be at the clinic at 7 this morning.

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzz… Oh sorry, dozed off for a moment.

    I actively think to myself that I’m practicing for baby-induced sleep deprivation.

    Like

  8. Sjoe, I am with Tam, not either one. Although I get up quite early to go to the gim, I would prefer sleeping, but I cannot go to be late either.

    But priorities help!!

    Thinking of you!

    Like

  9. I fall alseep really early at night but I’m up early morning week days and weekends. Problme is I don’t like to be spoken to for at least the first 45 min after I wake up – Iike to enjoy waking up in my own time and listening to the Sparrows fart without human interaction. Oh boy what am I going to do about having a baby?

    Like

Leave a Reply

