Haunted House

While canoeing on the Bitou River the other day we found this “haunted” house.  This house is in a beautiful spot and has the most amazing views but it looks really spooky mostly because it is sad and lonely and unloved…

img_2078

It took some convincing on my part to get scaredy cat Cliff to agree to go in, but finally we set out to explore this sad relic of a home and I was astounded at what we found.  I figured the house would be filled with graffitti and be a mess inside but I was also really saddened at the futility of it.  It is HUGE and the plan must have been for this to be a family home where lots of kids were brought up all the while enjoying the most of what nature had to offer. 

img_2097

img_21161

img_2095

img_2114

img_2124

I wonder what this house’s story is?

7 thoughts on “Haunted House

  1. Looks like it was incredible once upon a time.

    If you want to find out the story of the house, just find a local real estate agent and tell them you want to buy it! I’m sure they’ll get the full story for you then. 🙂

    Like

  2. I ~love~ exploring empty houses. There was one on a small patch of overgrown property near me in middle school and we totally called it the haunted house. Years later, I noticed the house at the end of the movie “The Blair Witch Project” was exactly like it. Makes it even creepier.

    Like

  3. Oh, how sad – it looks like it could be fantastic house with a great view. It makes you wonder what happened for it to be left to go to wrack and ruin and whether anyone will ever do it up again.

    Like

  4. These kind of houses always baffle me. It was obviously gorgeous and wonderful in it’s prime.

    When I was in high school we used to drive out into the country to find old abandoned houses (at night no less) to wander through. I have no idea why and the thought of some of them still creeps me out. What happened that nobody wants to live there anymore?

    Like

Leave a Reply

