Leaving on a Jet Plane

Not me.  My Dad is.  He’s leaving tonight.  For the UK. For good.  And to be honest I’m not really sure how I feel about it.  I’m sad, I’m irritated, I’m confused.

My Dad is 67 years old and he has recently been retrenched from his job.  Because of his age, his lack of formal education and his ornery disposition, he cannot find a job in South Africa.  He has now decided that he is going to go to the UK and find a job there cos in his mind “you don’t need an ID book to apply for a job in the UK”.  The thing is he looks old.  You can see he’s not a spring chicken anymore and quite honestly I cannot imagine a first world country like England not asking for *some* form of identification when one applies for a job.  He has no real plan of what he’s going to do and how he’s going to do it.  He says he’s going to stay in a Selous Scouts house for a few days until he finds a place to stay but I’m not so sure he’s got that covered.  He does not have a lot of money going over either. *sigh*

I’m worried and I’m pissed off with him.  How can he not have a roper plan in place?  How can he just up and go?  How can he be leaving the country and not be around when I finally fall pregnant?  How can he not be around to see *my* children grow up like he has my sisters child?

I hope that he finds a job.  I hope that he finds a place to stay.  I hope he gets what he’s looking for.

Bye Dad.  I love you.  I really hope you find happiness.

dad-mbd-speech-002

PS – > this picture of Dad was taken 3 years ago and he still looks pretty old… This is what he looks like now (taken in September)

img_1403

10 thoughts on “Leaving on a Jet Plane

  1. Oi Sam…how does one feel about something like this? He’s ur Dad! But who knows? Maybe he finds much needed camaraderie there with the poms? Let’s watch and see… Still, must be very hard on you… ((hugs)) M

    Like

  2. AAH Sam I really feel for you my friend. I’m so sorry that our parents have to go through the tough times they do. My dad is 68 and is still farming for a younger guy full time. It nearly kills him but he has to do it. I hope your dad finds what he is looking for and it all works out for the best. Thinking of you my dear friend.

    Like

  3. Hard to say what I wish for you. But I do know that I wish you peace in this journey, as I wish it for your Dad as well. Hope for lots of happiness to you both. Hugs for the times that you feel lonely, without your Dad.

    Like

  4. My dad is going through very similar job struggles, and it just puts me in a tailspin–its so tough to not be able to to more to help. Ugg, thinking of you and your dad, Sam. Loads of hugs…

    Like

Leave a Reply

