Back to the Mothership

We had a 3 day transfer this morning! 

Up early to get to the clinic, it must have been the miff weather, but Cliff and I ended up having a bit of a disagreement on the way there about the speed we needed to drive to get there and be on time… He thought he needed to drive at Grandpa pace and I thought he needed to drive a bit faster than that, so we ended up having a barney.  On the day of our transfer. Nice.  We got to the clinic and talked about our fight, so that we would at least be able to pretend we loved each other in the IVF suite and kissed and made up – sjoe, crisis diverted…

We went into the doctors office to discuss our embies, and my heart was pounding, I could kind of hear a “whooshing” in my ears it was working so darn hard… As you all know out of our 12 eggs, we had 10 that had fertlised and this morning we still had all 10 growing… Embie number 1 was T.E.X.T.B.O.O.K, they had written a huge T next to it on the page.  It was a perfect 8 celled beauty and I could see straight off that it was a goodie.  The next few were not as great, some at 5 cells and some at 4 cells and degenerating etc but then we got to embie number 11 which was also  T.E.X.T.B.O.O.K… At our lab they do not freeze anything that they do not consider even remotely viable, and we were blown away to hear that they thought we had 4 embies good enough to make the freezing grade…  Naturally we elected to freeze them, just in case they are needed for future use. 

Once we had seen all our beautiful embies, we went down the the IVF suite and I got dressed in the delicious theatre gown and got myself ready for operation bladder fill.  Three glasses of water and one big mug of tea later and we were ready for action… into the theatre I walked with Cliff in his pseudo scrubs at my side, hopped onto the bed and got all jellied up – hold the boat, madam, my bladder was this measly little balloon and was not full enough to start the transfer… Ooi wei!  So we ended up chatting to the coolest IVF nurse of the lot for about 25 minutes while we waited for the liquid to fill up my bladder while listening to classical music.  Once the liquid had traveled to the correct destination, we called down the doc and my legs got all happy with the stirrups.  Poor Dr J really battled to get the cathertre through my cervix (which apparently has quite a stubborn kink in it) and ended up having to pull my uterus down with forceps to get it through – one word – OUCH.  He even told me not to worry and that he would not pull my ute out completely… Yowza!  But finally he got it to the magic place and we got to see our beautiful embies “flash” into my uterus.  I leaked a few tears and think I might have broken some bones in Cliff’s hand, but our “babies” are back in the mothership…

I am so excited and am already SO very attached to number 1 and 11.  I pray that God will continue to bless this cycle and breathe the final bit of life into my little ones, and that He will continue to let them grow and develop in my womb. 

My heart is bursting with love and I have this burning desire to see who these perfect embies will become…  The next two weeks will be tough to get through, but the plan is to keep myself as busy as I can, to try not obsess about my embies too much and just to get through each day as it comes.

Testing on 06th June 2008. 

26 thoughts on “Back to the Mothership

  1. I am so glad the little embryos are back were they should be, i pray that God continues to be with you, hubby and the 2 little precious ones.

    Much the moving of the utereus sounds really ouch!!

    Thinking of you

    Like

  2. My friend, I will always cheer you on no matter what it is that you desire! I am so proud of you for having the courage to follow your heart and this process and I pray that your blessings will be plenty.

    Though you are right, I don’t totally understand this as I am alien to what you are your friends in this group desire. I’ve no idea what it means to be broody but as always I promise to listern, to learn and ask questions and look stuff up! I will always be here for you, but please, please don’t ask me to help change nappies!

    Love to you, Cliff and the Clams!

    Like

  3. Like Bono, I sing: “What a beautiful day! … ”

    I have to restrain myself or I will drop a tear…so happy for you!

    Best of luck for the next 2 weeks, will be here listening and cheering.

    Luvs,

    M

    Like

  4. Ouch sounds like it was painful but glad they made it back in.

    So 1 and 11 you both have reservations for at least the next 9 months, stick around!!!

    Good luck!!

    Like

  5. My husband and I got into a mini-fight at the RE’s office the other day. I’m guessing it’s a pretty normal thing to have happen, but it sure felt weird- like someone was going to see and think “Why are they trying to have kids?”
    That’s great that you had 2 fabulous embies! I hope they get settled in for a long stay! 🙂

    Like

  6. Lots of sticky thoughts heading your way … how wonderful you have so many beautiful embies! I will be thinking of you, try to stay sane in the 2ww … easier said than done I know 🙂

    Like

  7. The full bladder step is the WORST..I have a bladder the size of a pin-head!
    Oooo hoping that ONE and ELEVEN are nestling in tight=)

    Like

  8. Well done. I’ll keep 1 and 11 firmly in my thoughts and prayers.

    Just as a by thought and if you believe that kinda thing: “111 – This sign is used to indicate that your thoughts are related to the start of a new cycle in your life. What you are thinking about doing or changing is correct for the new phase of your life”. – Spiritual-Path

    Like

  9. Congratulations on your ET!!! It sounds like you have some very good (and at least one great!) embryos. I am sending lots and lots of sticky vibes your way!!

    I just started blogging yesterday (just in time for NaComLeavMo!), so please stop by and say hello if you get a chance. 🙂

    http://lupuspie.blogspot.com

    Like

  10. Just wanted to say thank you so much for stopping by to say hello! I look forward to following your journey and am keeping my fingers crossed for a BFP for you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

