Heart of the Home : ie the Kitchen

One of the area’s that we really did quite like when we viewed the new house was the kitchen.  We love to cook and entertain and we liked the look and “country” feel of the kitchen.  We felt it was a good fit to our thatch house.  When we planned the renovation, the kitchen was not supposed to be part of the equation.

But then we moved into the house.  I constantly was saying to Cliff “something smells in this kitchen” (he thought I was going nuts but humoured his pregnant wife and changed the dustbin bag more often than not) and when unpacking our boxes we realised that the current cupboards were hugely inadequate for our requirements.  Also the little “island” thingimebob that stuck out was a hazard cos Kade kept bumping his head on it when running into the kitchen or riding his bike in the area.

2013-09-09 18.01.46

2013-09-09 18.01.37

2013-09-09 18.01.24

So a very thorough re-work of the budget and some extra money borrowed meant that the kitchen was going to be re-done as well.  I am so glad that we did.  When we stripped the old kitchen out, we found two mice nests complete with dead mice (um funky smell anyone?) and also found the back of the cupboards completely rotting thanks to damp coming through the wall from the kids bathroom.

Our kitchen is now amazing if I have to stay so myself.  It looks way bigger than before (even though it is the exact same space just properly planned and used now) and I love, love, love my granite tops!  I also love our feature wall in the kitchen.  I am nuts about greens/blues and ADORE my mosaic tiles on this wall.

2014-01-07 21.18.39

2014-01-07 21.18.46

2014-01-07 21.18.51

2014-01-07 21.19.00

9 thoughts on “Heart of the Home : ie the Kitchen

  1. I am loving your renovation posts, especially sexy bathrooms, and a gorgeous kitchen. I am quite jealous! One day we’ll be able to afford my dream kitchen…
    For now, although I have a lovely big open-air drenched kitchen (there is no real sun coming in to speak of), it has the oldest floor tiles in the world, is choc-a-bloc with Ikea furniture, its not mine so I can’t complain.
    Besides, it will always be the heart of our home!
    xxx

  2. I also love that mosaic backsplash :)

    I would love a new kitchen but there’s really no need, so I’m thinking about just having the cupboard doors painted. I’m in a very “spendy” frame of mind lately – it’s not good.

    kitchen table and chairs bought, cv revamped, carpets going to be redone, I want to book april holiday, what next? oh i want to resign :) :)

  3. Love the mosaic and the hob. And the granite tops – lusting over those. My mum uses hers even as a chopping board, as in she sanitises an area and does all her chopping and prep directly on the top, which I think is quite nifty.

Leave a Reply

